This is a very old incident narrated below that happened years back when I was pursuing my MBA. Every year our university hosted an interstate/ inter university sports tournament for basketball, football, volleyball and some more games. Being a volleyball player I never missed the girls team from Kerala..ohh they were such a team and what game. It was a delight watching them play.. or rather I should say fight it out in the court.

During my final year our MBA boys were included in the university football team and had qualified for the semis. Now this was a game which I thought, I should definitely watch to support the boys. I like this game of football; except for the kicks that are between players…oouch.. the kick on the shin hurts…

All excited I dragged my roomie too for the match and we reached the playground late by 15 minutes. Now that was because I gladly slept in the afternoon and forgot the alarm. The match had begun at 4 pm sharp and all I could see was a huge swarm of boys from various engineering streams and a group of girls in one corner of the seating area. Our boys were playing against a team from Kerala and football in Kerala is a mad sport.

Squeezing myself through the crowd i managed to fins some place and sat down. I asked one of the boys next to me what the score was… and he was definitely from the same institute/ university as the defending team. With a smile, he replied; they are leading us 3-0. And I said, REALLY. Now my excitement grew knowing that our boys were leading.

I thought he would have been discouraged. I looked at him and asked, “enda veshamikkane..kali innuyum undalo” (ohh.. he was a malayalee, so my conversation was in Malayalam. So what I meant is, “are you disappointed/ discouraged, the game is still remaining”) “Veshamam” (disappointed) the boy replied with a puzzled look. “Njan endinu veshamikkande.. iduvere referee final whistle adichitillelo? Ennikkya orappa njangal goal adikkum.” (Why should I be disappointed when the referee has not blown the final whistle? I have confidence in the team; we will definitely overcome and hit goals.) I thought otherwise!!

Truly, the match ended 5-4 in favor of the boy’s team. After the match, he waved at me with a beautiful glee and left. I was amazed, mouth wide open. I admired his confidence; such beautiful and immense faith. As I got back to the hostel that night, his question kept coming back to me….. Why should I be discouraged when the referee has not blown the final whistle?

Today this question strikes me again. Why am I getting discouraged? It’s not the end?

At work I’ve been having a tough time since last 5 months. I am a recruiter and seriously I’ve been man-hunting/ headhunting for some of the most niche and complex profiles for some of the major pharma brands. And trust me, it’s tough, recruitment at times can simply suck life out of you. The situation is such that I get the so called most suitable/ best candidate, he goes for an interview at the client’s office and…. Then the most dreaded thing happens.. the position is placed on hold..!! Or even best they find someone internally… seriously what’ve you been doing while I was wasting my efforts for you..? Okay now that’s company discretion.. don’t have much to argue on that point. Phew, my efforts gone for a toss and then the saga continues.. client says we’ll let you know, we keep waiting to hear by dropping in reminders every fortnight, candidate keeps following up and we don’t lie but rather tell them the truth because it’s very important to be transparent in any profession. And this is the case with 8-10 odd good profiles with high earning potential (I could’ve earned a good incentive).

Totally disheartened with the trend that’s going on since 5 months, I decided to quit working on niche profiles and rather take up small profiles with a shorter TAT (Turnaround time) and sure shot closures, but then I realized that would be ok for a short while.. then I would again crave for senior profiles, rather I would need to wait for such profiles to work on. Client hasn’t yet pulled back the position. I still have the data plus my candidates are ever ready.. then why be discouraged? Let’s wait for time to strike. And if lady luck is on my side.. Bingo I should definitely strike a huge jackpot.

So, I am not giving up. I am not going to blow the whistle myself.

Life is like a game….

Why be discouraged, when there is still life. Why be discouraged when your final whistle has not sounded.

The truth is that many people blow the final whistle themselves…. But as long as there is life, nothing is impossible and it is never too late for you. 

And… Half time is not full time…..

13102494_155738904828972_1071251206_n

16 thoughts on “

  1. “Do not quit.” Why worry about motivational lecture, self help books, life gives you hundred examples too, doesn’t grass grow even if it’s trampled over and over again? Grass, the weakest of weeds, yet it never dies, simply because of its tenacity. So that’s all there is to it, be tenacious and never quit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

