Life, promises and remembrances

It is rightly said, you come into this world wailing and everyone surrounding you smiles back thinking that you would simply just calm down and smile back at them. There.. expectations laid down right the day you are born. Wow.. isn’t it amazing? And the day when you have to leave this world, you leave behind others wailing.

So while you have begun on this journey of life, which most of us or  I must say every one of us wants to make it the best, memorable and worthwhile. However not every journey is the best. Many a times anxieties, uncertainties, envies, feuds, calamities and what not could mar this journey that we all undertake. Many of the uncertainties that we face are a result of not our actions but what decided best by the one who created us.

As we embark on this journey, we take up responsibilities that could either make us or break us. Distractions come on our way almost every single time. Goals either remain far, unachieved or they just be there like a distant dream. And time is ticking, there is so much to achieve, so much to do, so many dreams to fulfill but alas, there are times when we stop dead and lose track of where we should be heading towards our goals. While it is ok to pause and take a break but don’t forget you need to keep going coz it’s not your goals that lead you, but you who lead towards your goal. Meanwhile do stop by and appreciate the beauty of life that surrounds you, the little things that add value to life such as the company of your loved ones, a picnic to a hill station, meet up your old friends, long drive and much more.

In this journey we make a wonderful collection called memories.  Memories bring back people, events, places, thoughts, emotions, good times and the not so good ones as well. While I have moved on from one city to another, I haven’t forgotten people who have been a part of my life, but rather I thank them for being a part of my life. Good friend from Coimbatore, colleagues from Bangalore all have been a part of this beautiful life.

While I look back at my journey of life, the promises that I have kept, I keep thinking  of this a beautiful poem written by Robert Frost comes to my mind.  This poem titles ‘ Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening’ is considered as a hallmark of poetic beauty in simplicity. As per Robert Frost, he called it ‘ the best bid for remembrance’. So enjoy this poem while I move on and keep the promises that I have made.

images

 

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

BY ROBERT FROST

Whose woods these are I think I know.

His house is in the village though;

He will not see me stopping here

To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer

To stop without a farmhouse near

Between the woods and frozen lake

The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake

To ask if there is some mistake.

The only other sound’s the sweep

Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,

But I have promises to keep,

And miles to go before I sleep,

And miles to go before I sleep.

9 thoughts on “Life, promises and remembrances

  1. beautiful prose. But i think people will easy forget and move on to new things. I lived all around India. I think i remember few things, very few people. Might be the start of alzheimer’s . Regards

    Like

  2. A beautiful piece of prose, I had not read it before, so thank you for bringing it to my attention. I agree about remembering, often it is a small deed of kindness that makes me remember some, more often though as years slip by it is memories of those gone who made a huge influence on who I became that are remembered at odd times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

